The Four Tops are a famous Motown group from the 1960s. In the mid-1980s, he attempted a solo career, scoring a hit in 1984 with "Don't Look Any . We hope you have enjoyed this blog celebrating the life and career of Mrs. Ruffin. When asked of the Trials and Tribulations of the music industry he simply states, "I'm a focused and determined artist. Later that year, he was assigned to join The Contours after their lead singer, Billy Gordon, fell ill.[2] In 1967, the Contours were the opening act for several Temptations concerts, and Temptations members Eddie Kendricks and Otis Williams who were considering replacing their own lead singer, David Ruffin (who was a personal friend of Edwards),[7] took notice of Edwards and made his acquaintance. [2], As a teenager, Edwards joined a gospel vocal group called The Mighty Clouds of Joy, and studied music at the Detroit Conservatory of Music. [9] Edwards was also inducted into Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame with The Temptations in 2013. Eli's parents had moved from Alabama to Mississippi, because of the harsh circumstances of living after the American Civil War. the Temptations most popular song, My Girl, a Motown artist who sang What Becomes of the Brokenhearted., California residents do not sell my data request. They could team up with Smokey Robinson again and write some good old fashion love songs like they use to do. Himself, Do you know something we don't? But theres something else, too, a gnawing sense that Ruffins legacy was shortchanged by media narratives that focused more on his flaws, and the way in which he died, than his talents. [2] He was not allowed to sing or listen to secular music at home, and his mother disapproved when he began pursuing a career singing rhythm and blues music. Rod Stewart, Daryl Hall and John Oates, Diana Ross, the Spinners, and Martha Reeves and the Vandellas also sent floral arrangements. They could team up with . Daughter: Mone Girlfriend: Tammi Terell (singer, ex-) The Temptations Risk