norm vanity also plays a part because players believe it makes them look better on TV todays players are not the first to consider less protection a strategic advantage. link to Can Pitchers Wear Sunglasses? I only wear whats required, and I get the lightest available versions of that.. Wide receivers shoulder pads are often more like a small harness wrapped in hard-sided plastic and weighing only a few pounds. As long as we're asking humans to complete this fundamentally thankless task, there's room at the table for people who really know ball. An NFL equipment monitor informs the back judge at the next stop in play (the back judge is the one who comes to the sideline to work with television personnel during commercial timeouts). Some believe Kentuckys Stanley Boom Williams started the high-pants trend in the SEC. The mandatory leg padding is back for the first time . Today, its even more that way than when I was a rookie.. But why do footballers not wear knee pads? Padding is now so light that it has a negligible effect on speed. Combining these materials provides optimum stifle confirm and comfort to football players . if(typeof ez_ad_units!='undefined'){ez_ad_units.push([[300,250],'fourvertsfootball_com-leader-1','ezslot_8',110,'0','0'])};__ez_fad_position('div-gpt-ad-fourvertsfootball_com-leader-1-0');The NFL has put an emphasis on dealing with hits in dangerous locations on the body. However, since this is a competitive and physical sport, its best if you invest in high-quality knee pads before playing. | The Sports Economist Why Are Football Knee Pads Needed During Game Play. Whether the injury happens during practice or during a game, it south authoritative that all athletes wear protective gearing like helmets, pads, and mouthguards to protect themselves from injuries . Though todays knee pads are fairly sleek many college football players still prefer to play without them. Ive noticed that a lot of football players these days do not have pads covering thei