Mazatlán. best time to visit Loreto - April or June? Once I was a travel writer but truth was not welcome in publications. Although it may not strike you as a place for expat living or retirement, the city has certain charms of its own which are particularly attractive to people who know Mexico well and enjoy a fusion of Mexican and Caribbean culture. It’s an ideal place to consider if you want to be away from the capital but close to it, and want a vibrant city with good amenities and a beautiful colonial environment. Elizabeth, I am not advising Sue as a local but as an independent female traveler. If you know the capital and you have fallen in love with it, you stay: and most people who stay can’t quite articulate why they do, they just do; and they adore being part of the vibrancy, the vast size and complexity and contrasts of this remarkable historical center that has been a major inhabited settlement of civilization for nearly 600 years. Compared to the US and Canada, more value. If you’re a surfer, an artist, a romanticist and ocean waves-lover at heart, this may be the ideal place for you, although if you don’t know it, a reconnaissance visit is essential to get to know the town and the area. See Also: Safety in Mexico. It is an indisputable fact that Americans and Canadians can own beachfront property in Mexico, and there are two ways to do it." I can answer. Members who are knowledgeable about this destination and volunteer their time to answer travelers' questions. It is some American ex pats that are religious zealots. Referred to as the Pearl of the Pacific, this resort town boasts 11 miles of boardwalk that … read our article, The Big Pineapple, for an insight into big city living. After Europe and. Campeche is well served with air connections to the USA and Mexico City and is a potential future ‘star’ of Mexico’s in regards to popular locations for foreign expats and retirees. Relatively unknown, even by travelers, this city has a huge potential. When